Gamasutra: The Art & Business of Making Gamesspacer
View All     RSS
December 8, 2016
arrowPress Releases






If you enjoy reading this site, you might also want to check out these UBM Tech sites:


 

Jon Shafer's Expert Blogs

Posted by Jon Shafer on Mon, 18 Feb 2013 11:23:00 EST in Design
What lessons did I learn while designing Civ 5 - and how am I now applying them in my new game?


Posted by Jon Shafer on Tue, 05 Feb 2013 03:40:00 EST in Design
Strategy is one of the oldest and best genres - but not all is well. What's wrong with it?


Posted by Jon Shafer on Tue, 29 Jan 2013 10:00:00 EST in Design
Let's discuss downtime, or the "negative space" of game design, and why it's deceptively important.


Posted by Jon Shafer on Fri, 11 Jan 2013 03:54:00 EST in Design
Let's look at the ups and downs of asymmetric design, with a particular focus on Civ & Starcraft.


Posted by Jon Shafer on Mon, 07 Jan 2013 06:02:00 EST in Design
In this article we examine the real design differences between turn-based and real-time games.


Posted by Jon Shafer on Fri, 21 Dec 2012 01:47:00 EST in Design
We look at what differentiates digital and tabletop games, plus the ways they're now converging.


Posted by Jon Shafer on Fri, 07 Dec 2012 12:27:00 EST in Design
In this article we look at abstraction in games, using several examples from the Civilization series.


Posted by Jon Shafer on Wed, 28 Nov 2012 01:37:00 EST in Design
In this article we dig into what makes JRPGs tick, and why Persona 4 might be the best one ever.


Posted by Jon Shafer on Tue, 13 Nov 2012 03:44:00 EST in Design
Let's look at randomness in the context of the tabletop game Quarriors and other deck-builders.


Posted by Jon Shafer on Mon, 24 Sep 2012 06:13:00 EDT in Design
In this article I share some tips for how to build excellent game interfaces.


[Previous] | [Next]