Gamasutra: The Art & Business of Making Gamesspacer
View All     RSS
March 23, 2019
arrowPress Releases







If you enjoy reading this site, you might also want to check out these UBM Tech sites:


 

Nikhil Murthy's Member Blogs

Posted by Nikhil Murthy on Mon, 30 Apr 2018 06:16:00 EDT in Design, Indie
I go over the features of The Quiet Sleep and how they work towards my desired aesthetics for the game.


Posted by Nikhil Murthy on Mon, 16 Apr 2018 09:48:00 EDT in Design
A breakdown of the techs of Civilization.


Posted by Nikhil Murthy on Sun, 01 Apr 2018 01:26:00 EDT in Design, Console/PC
A breakdown of the units of Civilization.


Posted by Nikhil Murthy on Mon, 12 Mar 2018 10:36:00 EDT in Design
Breaking down the components of the cities in Civilization.


Posted by Nikhil Murthy on Sun, 25 Feb 2018 10:12:00 EST in Design, Indie
Assorted thoughts on Getting Over It With Bennett Foddy including musings on the design, authorship, profundity and toxic masculinity of the game.


Posted by Nikhil Murthy on Mon, 22 Jan 2018 09:21:00 EST in Design, Indie
I define life-like games as those games that are about life and defend the idea of them.


Posted by Nikhil Murthy on Thu, 30 Nov 2017 09:42:00 EST in Design, Indie
On what a narrative gap looks like in a systems-driven game, how they can benefit your game and the risks inherent to them.


Posted by Nikhil Murthy on Mon, 13 Nov 2017 10:17:00 EST in
How the representation of emotion changed in The Quiet Sleep


Posted by Nikhil Murthy on Mon, 06 Nov 2017 10:16:00 EST in Design, Indie
The space between the panels is key to comic books. Asking the reader to interpolate between the images to get the full story is an integral part of the medium. This article goes over a parallel technique in video games and why I like it so much.


Posted by Nikhil Murthy on Fri, 20 Oct 2017 10:24:00 EDT in Design, Indie
How optional goals and tasklists conflict with each other.


[Previous] | [Next]