Gamasutra: The Art & Business of Making Gamesspacer
View All     RSS
December 18, 2018
arrowPress Releases






If you enjoy reading this site, you might also want to check out these UBM Tech sites:


Press Releases
  Insurgency: Sandstorm's Open Beta begins today on Steam - experience intense, realistic combat!Insurgency: Sandstorm's Open Beta begins today on Steam - experience intense, realistic combat!
  Share on Twitter RSS
 
 
12/07/2018
 


[This unedited press release is made available courtesy of Gamasutra and its partnership with notable game PR-related resource GamesPress.]

December 07, 2018

Insurgency: Sandstorm, the FPS sequel to indie smash-hit Insurgency, brings action-packed, nerve-wracking modern military combat to PC on December 12. Starting today and running through the weekend, an open beta period will invite everyone to try the game for free on Steam. This includes every map, weapon, coop & PvP game mode and all other content found in the final game. Competitive matchmaking will be available on full release. The game will be playable totally for free to everyone on PC for this limited period between 5pm CET/8am PST today through 6pm CET/9am PST Monday.

Insurgency: Sandstorm is a game of team-based tactics and objective-oriented gameplay in a fictional, contemporary Middle Eastern conflict, complete with player versus player, competitive matchmaking and co-operative game modes versus AI. Your soldier’s appearance, weapons, attachments, armor, and equipment are all up to you. Call in airstrikes, use vehicles with mounted weapons, and equip a wide range of specialist weaponry from grenades to drones to C4 explosives.

Prepare for a hardcore depiction of combat with deadly ballistics, light attack vehicles, destructive artillery, and unprecedented audio design putting the fear back into the genre. Death comes fast, ammunition must be carefully managed, and the environment must be tactically navigated at every step toward victory.

Those who pre-order Insurgency: Sandstorm receive a 10% discount as well as an exclusive in-game tattoo cosmetic to show their veterancy in the years to come. An additional 10% loyalty discount will be given to fans that own the original Insurgency. This additional discount will be offered until the end of March 2019.

Insurgency: Sandstorm releases December 12 on PC and the free Open Beta weekend starts today. Insurgency: Sandstorm will come to consoles in 2019. PC review code is available, please contact:

• North/South America: [email protected]

• United Kingdom: [email protected]

• Other territories: [email protected]