Gamasutra is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.


Gamasutra: The Art & Business of Making Gamesspacer
View All     RSS
June 24, 2019
arrowPress Releases
If you enjoy reading this site, you might also want to check out these UBM Tech sites:


 

15 of Gamasutra's best articles over the last quarter

by Kris Graft on 04/19/16 06:51:00 pm   Editor Blog   Featured Blogs

4 comments Share on Twitter    RSS

The following blog post, unless otherwise noted, was written by a member of Gamasutra’s community.
The thoughts and opinions expressed are those of the writer and not Gamasutra or its parent company.

 

Kris Graft is editor-in-chief, Gamasutra (@krisgraft)

Hey readers! I realize that often some of Gamasutra's best blogs and articles get buried over the course of time, so I figure it's worthwhile to start highlighting some of our best recently-published articles.

The 15 pieces below (10 blogs from game developers, and five articles from Gamasutra writers and contributors) are from the first quarter of this year (January-March). The list is a mix of our highest-trafficked articles, and some lower-trafficked-but-still-excellent articles. Bookmark this blog post or add it to your lists for later reading, or just go freaking nuts and read all of these articles right now. I'll highlight some more later down the line.

Last but not least, a HUGE thanks to our game developer bloggers who take the time to share their knowledge with their peers via our blogs -- Gamasutra simply would not be as good without you all. (If you'd like to start blogging on Gamasutra, here are the guidelines.)

Developer blogs

DeepMind Challenges for StarCraft – Ben Weber, Sr. Data Analyst at EA (@bgweber)

Why League of Legends is the World's Greatest Game – Keith Burgun, Lead Game Designer at Dinofarm Games (@keithburgun)

Logic Over Time – Jean Simonet, Systems and AI Programmer (@jean_simonet)

Clash Royale - Deconstructing Supercell's Next Billion Dollar Game – Michail Katkoff, Design Director at Zynga (@m_katkoff)

What I Learned From Our Game Having a "Mostly Negative" Rating on Steam – Nicholas Laborde, Founder at Raconteur Games (@ChiefRaconteur)

Water interaction model for boats in video games: Part 2 – Jacques Kerner, Senior Software Engineer at Avalanche Studios

Watch Paint Dry – Ruby Nealon, Infosec Blogger (@RubyLust)

Traversal Level Design Principles – Travis Hoffstetter, Lead Gameplay Designer at Visceral Games

Why Your Kickstarter Will Fail – Thomas Brush, Owner at Atmos Games (@atmosgames)

The Mechanics of Tension – Chris Pruett, Developer Relations at Oculus, Co-founder at Robot Invader (@c_pruett)

Original editorial

The 4 years of self-imposed crunch that went into Stardew Valley – By Chris Baker (@chrisbaker1337)

7 uses of procedural generation that all developers should study – By Richard Moss (@MossRC)

Q&A: Jonathan Blow on The Witness and the state of indie games – By Lexi Pandell (@lpandell)

The afterimage of Final Fantasy VII – By Christian Nutt (@ferricide)

Jake Solomon explains the careful use of randomness in XCOM 2 – By Roy Graham (@grayhaem)


Related Jobs

Gear Inc.
Gear Inc. — Hanoi, Vietnam
[06.22.19]

Technical Director
Legends of Learning
Legends of Learning — Washington, DC, District of Columbia, United States
[06.21.19]

Senior Unity Engineer - $140k - Remote OK
Wargaming.net
Wargaming.net — Chicago, Illinois, United States
[06.21.19]

Server Engineer
Wargaming.net
Wargaming.net — Bellevue , Washington, United States
[06.21.19]

UI Engineer





Loading Comments

loader image