Gamasutra is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Gamasutra: The Art & Business of Making Gamesspacer
View All     RSS
September 18, 2021
arrowPress Releases
If you enjoy reading this site, you might also want to check out these UBM Tech sites:

Press Releases
  Shadows of the Damned Original Soundtrack Now Available on GHM Web Store
  Share on Twitter RSS

[This unedited press release is made available courtesy of Gamasutra and its partnership with notable game PR-related resource Games Press.]

Tokyo, Japan September 2nd , 2011 – Legendary composer  Akira Yamaoka and Grasshopper Manufacture proudly announce the release of the Original Soundtrack to this year’s most outrageous game,  Shadows of the Damned!  This selection of songs from the universally praised score takes the listener on a journey to Hell and back with Yamaoka as the co-pilot.  Indeed, Yamaoka's designed this soundtrack as a "sound movie" - an aural imagining of Garcia and Johnson's adventure into the world of the Damned.

“I wanted to craft a soundtrack that was more than just a collection of the most popular songs from Damned.  I set out to create an experience that would take players back to the game, as if they were “watching” a movie,” Yamaoka explains.

The soundtrack features the hit theme to Shadows of the Damned Take Me To Hell (Broken Dream) featuring frequent collaborators  Mary-Elizabeth McGlynn and  Troy Baker, and the ending theme  Shadows of the Damned featuring legendary punk band  The Damned.  The soundtrack is limited to only 1000 pressings, making it a collector’s item. And as special bonus, Yamaoka will sign the first 300 sold to international customers.  The OST is available on the GhM WebStore

In addition to the amazing soundtrack starting September 9 th, Kurayami, the official Shadows of the Damned companion art book by manga artist and Shadows of the Damned Boss Concept Artist Q-Hayashida ( Dorohedoro), will go on sale.  The art book contains never seen before concept art of Flemming and his Damned, a special Damned manga, and conversation with Suda 51 & Q-Hayashida (in Japanese).

Shadows of the Damned OST Track List

1.          An Ordinary Life

2.          Take Me To Hell (Broken Dream)

3.          Cannibal Carnival

4.          What a Wonderful World

5.          Riders of the Lost Heart

6.          It’s a Bughunt

7.          My Dying Concubine

8.          As Evil As Dead

9.          The Bird’s Nest

10.       The Big Boner

11.       Great Demon World Village

12.       Ghost Hunter

13.       Great Demon World Forest

14.       Suburban Nightmares

15.       Justine for All

16.       Twelve Feet Under

17.       Different Perspectives

18.       The Castle of Hassle

19.       The Final Chapter

20.       Til Death Do Us Part

21.       Shadows of the Damned (ft. The Damned)


about Grasshopper Manufacture inc.

Widely known for creating and developing Killer 7 and No More Heroes Grasshopper Manufacture  is a developer based in Tokyo, established in 1998 by auteur game designer Suda 51. Suda 51 is famous for consistently creating new and original IPs. His vivid imagination has attracted artists throughout the Japanese entertainment industry, including visionary composer Akira Yamaoka, and fellow off-beat director, Kazutoshi Iida.  Grasshopper Manufacture recently release the critical darling, Shadows of the Damned (PS3, Xbox 360) and is currently preparing Lollipop Chainsaw (PS3, Xbox 360), Black Knight Sword (PSN, XBLA), and Sine Mora (PSN, XBLA) for release in 2012.

about Shadows of the Damned

Created by renowned developers Suda51 (director of No More Heroes), Shinji Mikami (director of Resident Evil) and music composer Akira Yamaoka (sound director of Silent Hill),  Shadows of the Damned combines visceral, grindhouse-style action with a psychologically twisted setting to provide a truly one-of-a-kind vision of hell, and is already receiving worldwide critical acclaim, with Game Informer giving it 9.25 out and 10, stating "Shadows of the Damned is a road trip to Hell well worth taking." GamesMaster UK also says that the game is "a kitsch, punk rock and roll assault on the senses," scoring it 90% out of 100%. 

about akira yamaoka

The acclaim accorded to composer and sound designer Akira Yamaoka by critics and audiences alike have confirmed his status as one of the most important artists in the video game industry.  Known to many by name and many more by his works, Yamaoka has contributed over 20 years worth of innovations to sound design in games. His work on series such as Silent Hill, Snatcher, and Castlevania: Symphony of the Night have cemented his place as one of the most important sound designers in the game industry.

Contact US

If you are a member of the press and would like additional information, please contact [email protected]