Gamasutra is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Gamasutra: The Art & Business of Making Gamesspacer
View All     RSS
July 9, 2020
arrowPress Releases

If you enjoy reading this site, you might also want to check out these UBM Tech sites:

Press Releases
  Shadow of the Colossus Gets Heavy With Metal Tribute Album
  Share on Twitter RSS

[This unedited press release is made available courtesy of Gamasutra and its partnership with notable game PR-related resource GamesPress.]



SEATTLE - May 20, 2019 - Materia Collective is thrilled to make available Battle With the Colossus, an 11-track symphonic metal tribute to Kow Otani's timeless soundtrack to Shadow of the Colossus. Battle With the Colossus dives deep into the riveting battle themes from the game and closes with the softer ambient track, "The Farthest Land," capping off a nostalgic trip back to The Forbidden Lands through the game's iconic music. Battle With the Colossus is licensed and available today:

"Battle with the Colossus embodies the duality of conflict versus beauty," notes arranger Ferdk. "Guitar riffs challenge the beasts. Orchestral melodies capture their majesty. I vividly remember encountering the very first colossus, way back in 2005. I was in awe, I hadn't seen something like this in gaming before. I found myself climbing this huge beast as the score charged into a triumphant orchestral epic, a one-of-a-kind experience. The soundtrack to this game is almost like a character of its own. It defines the experience just as much as the art direction and gameplay. It's truly a masterpiece of a game and one of my all-time favorites, so I'm pleased to be able to release my tribute to the game and its soundtrack."

The full track list for Battle With the Colossus is as follows:

01. Revived Power 

02. The Opened Way

03. In Awe of the Power

04. A Messenger from Behind

05. A Violent Encounter

06. Liberated Guardians

07. Gatekeeper of the Castle Ruins

08. A Despair-filled Farewell

09. Counterattack

10. Final Battle

11. The Farthest Land


About Ferdk


Ferdk is a musician from Buenos Aires, Argentina. While mostly associated with videogame music arranged into Symphonic Metal (where he combines the gritty feel of distorted guitars with the bombastic impact of heavy orchestration to create soundscapes akin to what one would hear if film scores were metal), he also likes to explore other genres throughout his arrangements.

Most of Ferdk's work can be found on his YouTube channel where he has amassed millions of views with over a hundred videos throughout the past five years.

Follow Ferdk on TwitterFacebook, and YouTube


About Materia Collective


Materia Collective is a Seattle-based videogame music publisher and label, representing an international array of renowned video game musicians, composers, and songwriters. The collective supports its members with the financial, legal, logistical, and creative aspects of bringing videogame music into the forefront. The company has become known within the industry as a representation of highly innovative game music endeavors that move and inspire.

Follow Materia Collective on Twitter, Facebook, YouTube and SoundCloud