Gamasutra is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.


Gamasutra: The Art & Business of Making Gamesspacer
View All     RSS
December 16, 2019
arrowPress Releases







If you enjoy reading this site, you might also want to check out these UBM Tech sites:


Press Releases
  FACEIT Reveals Groups and Schedule for ECS Season 8 Dallas Finals
  Share on Twitter RSS
 
 
11/12/2019
 


[This unedited press release is made available courtesy of Gamasutra and its partnership with notable game PR-related resource GamesPress.]

 

The highly anticipated groups have been announced for the upcoming finals which will see Team Liquid face off against NiP and Fnatic take on MIBR as the exhilarating day one matchups are revealed

 

Tickets for the ECS Season 8 Finals are available now via The Ticket Fairy

 

London, 12th November, 2019: FACEIT is pleased to reveal the groups and schedule for  the prestigious ECS Season 8 Finals from Nov 28th - Dec 1st at the Esports Stadium Arlington. The Dallas Finals will mark the conclusion of a Regular Season filled with fast-paced action and will see the best CS:GO teams from Europe and North America compete for a prize pool of $500,000 and the title of the ECS Season 8 champions. 

 

The Europe representatives will be Astralis, NiP, AVANGAR and Fnatic, while Team Liquid, Sharks, Evil Geniuses and MIBR will be the face of North America. All teams will compete in two intense double-elimination groups with the top two teams from each group advancing to the playoffs. The playoffs will then see the top teams battle it out in a single-elimination Best of Three bracket with the strongest team taking home the trophy. 

 

ECS Season 8 Finals Groups

 

Group A Group B

AVANGAR Sharks Esports Team

Evil Geniuses Astralis

Team Liquid Fnatic

NiP MIBR  

How the groups were determined

 

AVANGAR and Sharks Esports Team were determined as A1 and B1 respectively as they were the first teams to qualify. They then took turns selecting the teams that should be in the opposite groups:

 

  • A1(AVANGAR) selects B2 (Astralis)
  • B1 (Sharks) selects A2 (Evil Geniuses)
  • B2 (Astralis) selects A3 (Team Liquid)
  • A2 (Evil Geniuses) selects B3 (Fnatic)
  • B3 (Fnatic) selects A4 (NiP)
  • B4 (MIBR) remaining
 

The Season 8 Dallas Finals sees the welcome return of ECS to Esports Stadium Arlington after Danish powerhouse Astralis took home their third ECS title at the same venue in Season 6. Arlington will provide the backdrop for a Thanksgiving weekend full of top tier competition as teams try to cement their CS:GO legacy with an ECS title. All top four teams in the HLTV rankings, Astralis (1st), Evil Geniuses (2nd), Fnatic (3rd) and Team Liquid (4th), as well as NiP (8th) and AVANGAR (9th) will face off, making the ECS Season 8 Finals a battle for the ages.

 

The winning team will dethrone ECS Season 7 champions Team Vitality who surpassed all expectations with a miracle run which saw them take down Brazil's FURIA at the iconic SSE Arena, Wembley earlier this year.

 

FACEIT has also partnered with leading social broadcasting platform Caffeine on exclusive content throughout ECS, including the return of ‘ECS After Dark,’ their exciting overtime show broadcast exclusively on the platform.

 

ECS Season 8 Finals Schedule

 

Time Day 1 (Nov 28)

9am CT, 3pm GMT, 4pm CET AVANGAR vs. EG (Gr A semi 1 - BO1)

10:30am CT, 4:30pm GMT, 5:30pm CET NiP vs. TL (Gr A semi 2 - BO1)

Noon CT, 6pm GMT, 7pm CET Astralis vs. Sharks (Gr B semi 1 - BO1)

1:30pm CT, 7:30pm GMT, 8:30pm CET Fnatic vs. MIBR (Gr B semi 2 - BO1)

3pm CT, 9pm GMT, 10pm CET Gr A UB Final - BO3

6pm CT, midnight GMT, 1am CET Gr B UB Final - BO3  

Time Day 2 (Nov 29)

9am CT, 3pm GMT, 4pm CET Gr A LB R1 - BO3

Noon CT, 6pm GMT, 7pm CET Gr B LB R1 - BO3

3pm CT, 9pm GMT, 10pm CET Gr A LB R2 - BO3

6pm CT, midnight GMT, 1am CET Gr B LB R2 - BO3  

Time Day 3 (Nov 30)

Noon CT, 6pm GMT, 7pm CET Playoffs Semi #1 - BO3

3pm CT, 9pm GMT, 10pm CET Playoffs Semi #2 - BO3  

Time Day 4 (Dec 1)

Noon CT, 6pm GMT, 7pm CET Showmatch

3pm CT, 9pm GMT, 10pm CET Grand Final - BO3

 

For more information on the Esports Championship Series, visit ecs.faceit.com and follow the league on Twitter (@ECS). 

 

ENDS

 

About FACEIT

FACEIT is the largest global esports platform with more than 12 million users playing over 15 million online game sessions each month. The platform serves players, organizers, influencers, communities, brands and publishers who use FACEIT to create, expand and manage a highly engaged competitive community of gamers from grassroots to pro level. 

FACEIT’s Game Studio and SDK allows game creators to easily integrate user-friendly esports features into their titles and develop the esports ecosystem.

Our Media division produces over 1,000 hours a year of premium esports live content and events, owned and operated as well as in partnership with the likes of NBC Sports (Comcast), NHL, Sky, Turner Sports (ATT/TW), ESPN (Disney) and more.